Urban Tales in Black & White


The Nyack African - American Author Conference & Book Fair was established to provide a platform for the discussion of African-American literature between the academic world, authors, publishers, and readers.



[ClickPress, Tue Mar 08 2005] WHAT: The Nyack African - American Author Conference & Book Fair will feature a panel discussion with authors of Urban and Street novels, and esteemed members of the African-American academic community. Fans of African-American Urban and Street novels can also meet their favorite authors, and have an opportunity to purchase their books.

WHEN: Saturday, March 19, 2005 10:00am - 5:00pm

WHERE: Nyack Public Library
59 South Broadway
Nyack, New York 10960
(26 Miles from Manhattan, NY, 15 miles from Westchester, 20 miles from the Bronx)

Keynote Speaker: Professor Thomasenia Myers, SUNY Purchase; Panelists Teri Woods and Relentless Aaron will discuss "Urban Fiction".

ADMISSION: FREE

AUTHOR APPEARANCES:

Teri Woods author of True to the Game & Dutch

Relentless Aaron author of Platinum Dolls & The Last King Pin

La Dawn Black of DJ of 92 Q in Baltimore and author of - Stripped Bare: 10 Tested Truths

Dwayne S. Joseph author of The Womanizers & Around the Way Girls

Jihad author of Street Life


Erick Enck & Nurit Folkes of Teri Woods Publishing with Tell Me Your Name & Triangle of Sins

Stanice Anderson author of I Say a Prayer for Me

Stephanie Johnson author of She's Got Issues

Alan Cramer author of God Helps Those

Tim Hampton author of Holding My Own

Kris Burkes

History in the Making
The Nyack African - American Author Conference & Book Fair 2005 is the first African-American Book Fair in New York that is outside of New York City! Prominent members of the African - American academia and best-selling authors will discuss the birth and life of Urban & Street literature. Urban scribes, Teri Woods of True to the Game and Dutch, and Relentless Aaron author of Platinum Dolls and The Last King Pin are just two of the panelists. The overwhelming popularity of urban novels can be attributed to their perfect mix of action and romance that star African-Americans . Enticing covers depicting African-American men and women even lure shoppers along Harlem's famed 125th street more than the hottest hip-hop albums. Barnes & Nobles, Target, and other stores have already dedicated sections to this rapidly growing genre.



The Nyack African - American Author Conference & Book Fair was established to provide a platform for the discussion of African-American literature between the academic world, authors, publishers, and readers.


SPONSORS: Barnes & Nobles, Golden Krust Bakery, Alize, BJ's Wholesale Club, NY Knicks, Baby Phat , Tyler Perry

Media Contact:
Stephanie Taylor
It!s A Lifestyle Media
Phone: (845) 893-3037
stephanie@itsinny.com
March 8, 2005

The Nyack African - American Author
Conference & Book Fair

Free Admission



Company: Its! In NY


Contact Name: Nyack Public Library

Contact Email: stephanie@itsinny.com

Contact Phone: (845) 893-3037

>>Visit website